To date, “The 2010 Hip-Hop State of Affairs" http://kzconcepts.wordpress.com/2010/09/02/the-2010-hip-hop-state-of-affairs/ remains the most viewed post on my site, http://www.kzconcepts.com.

Thank you. 

The streets asked for it; consider it delivered…

“The 2011 Hip-HopState of Affairs”

 By: KZ (@KZHighSociety)

My fellow hip-hop heads,

A year has passed since I last took a good look at the hip-hop landscape and gave some suggestions. The field is overgrown; overrun by snakes, weeds, rats, and droppings. It’s time to rip away the ground cover; far too many
roaches and half-ass rappers run around acting like they matter more to the game than they actually do. Hip-hop is evolving faster than ever before. It graduates new classes and labels monthly. Hot new dances that accompany current singles get outdated fast, along with certain words associated with them (like trill, swag, or anything black and yellow. If you know someone who still “dougies,” kick them square in the pelvis for me; hard.)

If you get mentioned on this list, I encourage you to really think about what I’m saying. I am not your ‘yes-men.’ I’m an unbiased observer and diehard hip-hop fan. A few of you follow me on Twitter. I appreciate that, but forewarning, anybody can get it. If you’re a good rapper, you’ll hear exactly what it is you’re doing that works; respect. If you’re not a good rapper, expect to be told why. I won’t blindly hate on anybody (as I am no hater,) but you WILL get honest criticism. You can choose to accept what I say, thank me, explain yourself, ignore me, or get yourself killed trying to come after me (let’s not bother with the latter; this is entertainment.)  Here goes:
Picture
Jay-Z:

I put Jay at the top of the list because he has long been one of the best rappers out. Fame doesn’t mean shit here, so I rated Jay highest due to his success in overall business. From special edition Audemars Piguet watches (that you can’t get,) to his spot on the Forbes list, Shawn Carter walks a higher path (extra points for remaining married to Beyonce.) No matter what you’re doing, any Jay-Z record you put on will inspire you to do the very best you can at it. Jay’s words/actions/imagery often fuel the Illuminati rumors. He either is (more than likely,) or he likes to keep people wondering if he is; I honestly don’t care. If secret societies choose to spend ungodly amounts of money to amass imperial beats, the coldest of lyrics, and a ”running shit” attitude in Baseline simultaneously, I say do more of it. Hat tip, Jay; I admire you.

Picture
Eminem:

Em has solidified his place in hip-hop history forever. He’s braved unfriendly crowds and protesting soccer-moms in the past to prove beyond a doubt that he could rip a mic as well as (or better than) his black counterparts. Since taking time off and “Relapse,” I just can’t find his beat/lyric combos as intense and fun as they once were. Does anybody else miss the old, hungry Eminem? Think Rock Bottom. Em now singing with Rhianna bores me. They should have teamed up for “Murder Murder 2011.” I respect you though, Mr. Mathers. 

Picture
Lil Wayne:

Don’t call him Lil Wayne anymore; he officially became Weezy F Baby once he caught that last gun charge. Sometime during the Riker’s Island days, he became Lil Tunechi (who the hell knows.) Wayne has clever, creative bars at times, but some of the collabos insist upon themselves. When I tweet the most profound thing ever and get one RT, and Weezy can tweet “Uhh” or a period and get 100+? Time to re-evaluate, folks. Rebirth was a messy abortion (with the exception of “Drop The World.”) Weezy, please man, stop with the skinny jeans and skater shoes. You want to reinvent? Try a suit. I understand you wanted to try your hand at rock music; mission accomplished. Now can you please go back to laying bars with the intricacy of “6’7” or better? I’m bored.

Picture

Picture

Picture

Picture
U.S.D.A:

Trap music isn’t dead; it lives in my playlist. The United Streets Dopeboyz of America sit right on the top of that list. We automatically associate “8732” with Young Jeezy, but Slick Pulla and Blood Raw are still working Twitter and quietly churning out classics on their own. Trap music gets a bad rap/its own category due to the subject matter; running kilos of blow up and down I-95. While it can get tiresome listening to ‘drug sale tales’ after a while, if you’ve been there, you can really relate. Not just the dope part, but the stressful/minute-to-minute/constant struggle way of life that can be felt in the bars. Guys, I encourage you to drop a 17-20 track banger for the streets soon (cough…Recession 2…) We are not hearing Young Jeezy’s name like we used to. Oh, and don’t be afraid to bring in other rappers/labels for guest spots (T.I, Rozay, Big Boi,Luda, I-20, Rich Boy; sky’s the limit.

Picture
Chris Brown:

Ain’t shit. He only made this list because he bears mention (unfortunately not in good light.) While I refuse to be another blogger who mindlessly picks on Breezy for his actions and outbursts, “Chris, you’re playing yourself.” You should have stuck to making fuck jams for the ladies. “Look At Me Now” showcased your limited vocab and subject matter; “I make more money than my fans and blow it on unnecessary window-dressing (yellow bottles.”) Very
original. The beat on that song was annoying, too. It sounded like Adderalled-up robots farting in metal bathtubs. Busta Rhymes methodically murdered his verse (as always,) and Weezy administered the verbal head-shot. Thank God for them, huh? They could have replaced you with any other ‘Top 10’ rapper and had a diamond. Keep acting like you are NOT the problem. You are so blessed to be in your position in life; but it seems like you feel a bit entitled. We lose respect for you every time we see you hit a girl or break windows when an interview isn’t filled with ‘gimme’ questions. You’re a good singer and dancer, but you have anger issues that your people tend to ignore. Seek real therapy, not the publicity kind. Oh, and as Mike Epps famously quipped on T.I’s “King” CD, “Bitch, your head looks like a dirty tennis ball now.” Fix your hair, homie. Fail; and that is based 97% on your crybaby attitude, 3% rhyming skill.

Picture
Birdman:

Weezy’s daddy Birdman has become “all image no substance.” He occasionally gets in a good verse on a DJ Khaled/Rick Ross team-up, but I don’t think I could sit through an entire Birdman CD; like ever. Mannie Fresh and Weezy always made it better; The “Number One Stunna” has yet to stand alone. To remind the public that he has money, Birdman frequently places huge bets on sporting events and boasts about it; tactless. It is cool that you can seemingly afford such bets ($4 mil on a Mayweather fight/a mil on the Packers in the Super Bowl/pissing away $2 million on the Heat in the Finals) but it lacks class. Oh, and no more simply SAYING you’ve placed a big bet. From now on, you have to post video of yourself physically paying out. Otherwise, I just don’t believe you. Now eating heartily off future earnings of the YMCMB class, Birdman will remain wealthy enough to live like a hood-rich tycoon for the rest of his days. Props, I guess?

Picture
Rick Ross:

Boss. With the real “Freeway” Rick Ross out of prison and taking to Twitter, the former corrections officer knew he wouldn’t win the fight for that name, so he became Ricky Rozay (which would be like me changing my name to Charlie Hennessy; not very clever.) Either way, the public largely overlooked his usurped past and accepted Ross as a rap music superstar. Nobody can deny that Rick’s lyrics are great (although some are said to be ghostwritten.) He has good delivery and very strong work ethic. Besides churning out solid CDs, Rick has already done more mixtapes and collaborations than many rappers do in a career. Busta Rhymes long held the title of ‘hardest working man in hip-hop’ (in my book,) but this year, Rozay gets the nod. He moves a LOT for a guy his size. With the creation of MMG, Ross could sit back and let the young bucks bring in his paper; yet he keeps working hard (that’s called “grind.”) The downside: Rick spends far too much time and money with Johnny Dang. The jewelry is getting beyond ridiculous (think Mr. T.)

Picture

Picture
Fat Joe:

Joey Crack hasn’t made any real music of note lately. He seems content with being a third-or-forth stringer on DJ Khaled tracks. I do think he’s one good release away from being right back on it. Congrats on the weight loss. Cut back the uncomfortable Spanish conversation skits and use the type of beats one would hear playing inside a king’s lair. “I’d rather drop shells and let off shots until my Glock melts.” BRILLIANT! I still enjoy “DonCartagena/Me, Myself, and I.” #KeepGoin

Picture

Picture

Picture
Roscoe Dash:

Bro, what is there about you that you’d like us to know? Everything about you screams “Soulja Boy cover band,” but you shave your views/thoughts into the side of your head. I can’t quite tell if that is cutting-edge promotion or downright lame. My “college student turned baller” alarm is sounding. You’ve got to understand, I grew up on N.W.A/Eazy/Pac/Big/Spice 1/Ice-T. This shit seems just a bit too polished/manufactured. You do however, get extra credit for the speed of your flow.

Picture
Waka Flocka Flame:

Flakaveli my ass. You don’t fill 2Pac’s shoes just because there is a vacancy. Just getting shot at doesn’t make you a G; and that goes for everyone. You’re a two-face (like from Seinfeld.) At times, you look like a killer out of the countriest part of Georgia. Other times, you look like a community college marketing major. I give you credit for “No Hands,” because the music flowed through people; that hook made everybody want to stick their Glocks out the car window and squeeze. Oh, and shame on you for getting an entire generation of kids to pretend to be seasoned Moscato connoisseurs. Drinking Moscato in public is NOT gangster.  

Picture

Picture
Slaughterhouse:

Thinking back to Scary Movie/Life/Bad Meets Evil/the GTA soundtrack, Royce Da 5’9” has always been a good lyricist. I also think he missed a critical window in time when Em first blew up, and as a result, stayed further underground than he deserved. With empty seats still at the table, it was nice to see Eminem bring Royce back into the fold; those guys produce gold together. This group has some good members, but they seem hastily/awkwardly packaged together; like Shady decided to save some money and get a group rate. They suffer the fate of Bad Boy’s “Da Band;” some real talent dragged down by less-ambitious “band members.” Joe Budden is a solid rapper, too; what happened? Both names should be household, not just ghetto household (like mine.) Royce, team up with a certified superstar (besides or in addition to Em, and you’ll be
shouting me out, setting the carpets on fire on “106 & Park.” You once called my #KZHS custom Jordans“over the top.” I’m not sure if you meant it to be insulting, but it came off that way. I’m still a fan. Good luck.

Picture

Picture
Soulja Boy:

Soulja Boy is still around. He plays on Twitter and Ustream, bragging about how rich he is and promoting his flunkies. Yawn. Great; now one-dimensional has officially been done. Hip-hop’s ultimate one-hit-wonder (who decided to stick around and try to keep going instead of dropping off for 10 years and doing a reality show.) Not hating Soulja; (gotta respect the earning power, especially considering the actual product. *Homer Simpson voice* Rubes! So many rubes!”) Like every other rapper, not everything you do turns to gold (your dro’d-out friends will tell you anything to keep that gravy train going.) Your music is for chubby hoodrats and high-school-aged dick-riders with no ambition of their own. Tighten up and get serious. Land a role in a high-profile gangster flick to strenghten rep.

Picture
Ludacris

I haven’t heard much from Luda lately, but between the Magnum Live Large tour and Summer Jam, hip-hop’s most charismatic cat is staying busy. Chris, please man…give us a record full of imperial beats and furious LudaFlow. The people still want to hear you/Playaz Circle/I-20 tear shit up. A “Screwed Up” remix/follow-up with Lil Flip would be aces, too. The fuck jam collabos play out quickly; and for God’s sake man, get at me about those LudaComics!

Picture
Playaz Circle:

Tity Boi must have finally realized that his name had limited commercial appeal/marketability. Call him 2chainz now; he’s constantly doing shows. Where’s Dolla Boy at? I have to be honest, I knew the “Supply & Demand” CD word-for-word before I even knew Dolla’s name; rebrand & promote! Guys, the streets want another. Flight 360: The Takeoff was not promoted heavily enough; buy less Gucci duffel bags and spend it at another ad agency. Tit, I still have a bent, purple-liquid filled piece of bottle art sitting in my studio, ready to ship you: 2 Chainz Old Fashioned Codeine; “For Your General Health.” Just DM me a shipping address.

Picture

Picture
Lil Flip:

No matter what anyone says, Flip IS the Freestyle King. This man can spit quality for 14 minutes straight off the top of his head. Let’s be clear: Weezy doesn’t freestyle all that much anymore, and we’ve all seen the YouTube video of him choking when it came time to freestyle on camera. Unless Eminem goes back to his Rap Olympics automatic freestyle mode for 30 minutes, Flip gets to keep his crown. (Flip, I can’t find Lucky Nites here in northeast Ohio, so I’m working to get a bottle delivered from Florida. You have an art masterpiece coming, but these things take time.)

Picture

Picture
T.I:

Tip had a brief, highly-anticipated return to society this year. Not long after his release, he was right back on the shelf for violating parole on a pill charge. I’ve got nothing but respect for Tip, but I just don’t feel “No Mercy” was quite the soundtrack “Paper Trail” was. Keep your head up, Tip; I hope you stay out this time. With your full attention, I have faith that your next CD will be amazing. When Pac died, his spirit landed in Camouflage; when he got killed, it landed in Tip. (RIP Camo)

Picture
Nas:

Twitter is abuzz right now with the release of the Nas “Nasty” joint. It is the gritty, lyrically-sharp fare we expect from Nas. The beat however, almost gives me a panic attack. If he was going for “deep, grimey QB,” he hit it (I would have preferred some highs/synths/a girl singing a hook.) You’re a legend; fuck those haters who still wage someone else’s 10-year-old war with you. I’d like to hear you team up with Rozay/Kanye/even Jay. Welcome back.

Picture
Cyhi Da Prynce:

Just before Kanye released “MBDTF,” I got a magazine assignment to write a piece about Cyhi. I @’ed him on Twitter, told him I had some free publicity to give him, and wondered if he had any input. He quickly sent me his e-mail address. When I filled him in on the specifics, he must have felt it was beneath him and didn’t respond again. I went on to write “Cyhi Goes Sky-High” without him. You’re welcome. Cyhi solidified his place in hip-hop with the clever wordplay he exhibited on both “MBDTF” and his mix tapes. He’s creative enough to be a G.O.O.D artist, but I think we’re all hoping for a full-length/guest-filled label release soon. Respect.

Picture
Nicki Minaj:

To settle the debate once and for all, yes, Nicki IS a younger/modernized version of Lil Kim (either start hating on me right here or agree and move on.) Kim has gotten too old to be a sex icon; she is. (You shouldn’t still be doing P-drop posters at 40.) Don’t be mad at Lil Wayne for recognizing the void in the market and signing her. She had no class for taking a swipe at Kim, and Kim seemed pathetic to even participate. I don’t really enjoy Nicki’s music, as I didn’t really care for Kim’s music. She has the same bouncy “Missy” feel/intentionally weird/innuendo/dull beats that I found super duper boring during the 1990’s. Her body and star power are her saving graces. Overrated; sorry babe.

Picture
Kanye West: 

Kanye; I had to list him way at the bottom because if I mentioned him first, he wouldn’t have finished the article. Mr. West, you are one of the greatest lyricists/beat makers/samplers/personalities to ever bless the rap game with your participation. I’ll stop there; we wouldn’t want you getting big-headed/gassed up/arrogant (you see how poorly it has worked out for @KingJames.) Quit acting so damn unobtainable; you are just a person on a planet with 7 billion other people just like you. I have a go-to Kanye track for any mood/occasion. I’m a huge fan, but I could do without the attitude. 

Picture

Picture
Lupe Fiasco:

This firebrand has been bucking trends and making shocking statements (“Obama is the biggest terrorist in America” comes to mind.) Careful B, the hip-hop police have Homeland Security resources now. Every generation has a rebel that gets whacked way too young; an instigator. They got James Dean/Bob Marley/Eazy E/2Pac; you seem to share their spirit. I’m shocked they never went after Dead Prez. Just watch what you say, please. Let another hothead loudmouth face the government assassins. Respect. 


Summary:


As you can probably tell, I am cynical, old-school, and leery
of new acts trying to sneak into the A-list. If you’re new but not humble, I
won’t even bless you with a listen. New rule: you have to have at least three
(3) platinum-selling CDs out to compare yourself to a legend, call yourself “the
greatest” of anything, or use the title “King” (unless describing what T.I. is
to the South, or what Flip is to freestyles.)
                                                                  
                                                                                         -KZ

Picture



Leave a Reply.