The 2010 Hip-Hop State of Affairs

Some of you might not know this, but KZ is a die-hard hip-hop fan. My first brush with it was ’89-‘90-ish. Friends started showing up with N.W.A. cassettes. When you were raised on Lynyrd Skynyrd, Guns N’ Roses, and Motley Crue, suddenly embracing hip-hop (called “rap” music back then) can be quite a shock. Eazy E singing “Nobody Move” made me think I could take a bank, even at age 13/14. I learned what a gat was.
Picture

I wanted to get that ’64 Impala and 64-oz. bottle of Old English 800. Just what a 14-year-old needed, a jug of malt liquor to go with his already bad attitude. We wore our Raiders jackets and yelled “fuck the police.”

Picture
I’m about to bounce all over the place, so pay attention…

Kanye West’s video “Power” looks like an amazing painting come to life.I first saw it on BET, so obviously I didn’t get to see the whole thing. They had to cut back to the battle. Freestyle Friday, son! White boy challenger (Hatch?) upset NC’s finest. While I love battling and have great respect for it as a talent, I was disappointed to see this one. The white boy was out of Detroit (original, huh?) They had good timing and managed to pull off a rhyme at the 8th measure, but the lyrics were just bad. Two grown men trading hypothetical, fictional threats while boasting about their style. Bitches, please. Is this how the rest of the world views us? Hip-hop fans have a keen nose when it comes to bullshit. If it’s even slightly wack, that opinion will spread across the crowd faster than the smell of ganja.  Forget about freestyling and WRITE your shit. Craft yourself some perfect lines to use. Keep a brand new verse fresh in your mind. After using this hot verse ONCE, be sure to construct a new one (if even one person in the crowd has already heard it, you’re immediately found out.)

I want Kanye/Common/Nas…not Glock, block, slinging rock. If you must rap at the pace of your own mind, be sure you never cut off early. You do so, you lose. Same as going, “Yo yo yo. Aye…yo” for 8 bars before attacking. Use that time to hurl even more offensive insults! You’re not on the mic to figure out lyrics, you’re here to shout them! This especially applies if you go first. If you can pull off a full verse, thank you; obviously you’ve been practicing. There is nothing in the world like hearing a cat you don’t know comment in real time about his surroundings, current events, and your raggedy shoes.  The ability to freestyle (especially while high) is a major feat; a talent that must be constantly practiced. You need a good vocabulary to begin with. Group together common phrases and put two that rhyme in a row. Watch your opponent. Is he ashy? Does he spit when he talks? Does he have a slutty sister or woman? As one sentence ends, a related, supporting, rhyming line should be in your mind. Also, there is nothing worse than falling off beat trying to keep up. Critics have a good reason for mocking hip-hop nowadays. Standards have changed. Lines between genres have blurred. Some might view it as a good thing but not me. You might say hip-hop is benefiting by reaching further into American culture, but that’s just not true. What it is doing, is telling artists to intentionally clean up/water down the music that their real fans are actually buying. Getting money for performing is nice, but not everything is worth doing.

Picture

Picture



If Ol’ Dirty Bastard were alive today, he would be taking a limo to pick up an EBT card on his own reality show. That’s not progress.

Picture
Chris,

(I know they call him Luda. But his mama named him Chris, I’mma call him Chris!)

I’m sure you got payed big for the venture, but you’ll always have an asshole like me to point it out. (Again, I like Luda…no homos. I even offered via e-mail to work for DTP.) This Twitter generation has no attention span. You have to accept that there are some people who don’t listen to you. You don’t have to infiltrate other markets to stay hot. TI sold the catchy hook from “Live Ya Life” to Kidz Bop.


Picture
Ugh…it’s been ruined for me. I skip that song now when I listen to Paper Trail.

Make another Luda record! We all know they sell!

(A random observation I’ve kept to myself: On Playaz Circle’s Supply and Demand CD; the odd-numbered tracks are awesome. Even numbers are, eh.


Picture

Picture

Jay-Z teaming up with Linkin Park was a good fit, but I don’t listen to that CD as much as the rest. Don’t get me wrong; I’m a LP fan, too.

(Grape jelly is good, isn’t it? And diamonds are beautiful; but combining the two wouldn’t necessarily mean a good piece of toast. Ya dig?)


Picture
Rap or sing; but not both

If you can spit lines into a mic with beats, you are a rapper. Cats like Neyo/Chris Brown/Lil Romeo/Bow Wow/Trey Songz have watered it down. Shiny-chested R&B singers simply SAY their lines on the track of a rapper, and suddenly they feel they earned the title. Remember R. Kelly going from ladies man to thug?

Picture



Did a song with Jay and got Foxy to curse on his record, and suddenly he shared in their credibility? You’re not a gangster, you just play one on the TV. You’re actually a middle-aged man with questionable sexual preferences. Yeah, I said it…

Picture

Picture
(Glock, Inc. maybe?)I sat and counted as a kid once; over 1,000 swear words on “Amerikkka’s Nightmare.” That’s gangster. Those fifteen tracks perfectly capture a a unique mindset.I’ve heard that Spice 1 is currently touring in Japan. When he comes home, I’d like to see him do a track with Young Jeezy. Let DJ Drama remix it, throw on Blood Raw and Slick Pulla, Rick Ross, Jay-Z, Beans, T.I….man, I’m dreaming now. That would be the drug-dealingest-themed show ever. Even police and security working the event would be selling grams.

Picture

(The old school does strive to stay current. E-40 & The Click, Too Short, Ice-T, etc…many on Twitter now. It’s nice, but they come off as time travelers. I understand Law & Order boosted Ice-T’s acceptance among the general (white) public, but I’m seeing way too much of him on TMZ lately.)

Picture
My point is, singers should sing, rappers should rap. Remember when Biggie Smalls sang on “Player Hater?” It was not great. Same applies to R&B singers. Put Neyo in a battle with Chamillionaire and watch him fold like a cheap suit. See what I’m saying?

Crossover songs can be good, but they typically just land good rappers on wack, radio-friendly beats. You might wear aviators, dress hood, and get icy like a rapper, but you are as ‘sheltered artist’ as they come. Go back to making records for us to fuck our women to. This means you, Usher…

Picture
Rap superstars/agents/producers:

They love to gloat about how much money they make. How about this…every one of you set a little bit of that scratch aside and sign yourself a new act. Keep your superstars if you have them, but make it a point to seek out at least one good artist. American Idol and America’s Got Talent should not be the primary ways for talent
to get noticed. We can continue to accept garbage like Soulja Boy as the norm, or you can get on your job. This one-hit-wonder proved that he could sell a million records by saying his name in the hook. (This brings Mike Jones to mind, but he actually has good beats and lyrics; respect.)
Find guys with raw talent and no outlet for their creativity. You’d be shocked at what the average cat can produce/accomplish with just the slightest bit of support.

Picture

Picture

Picture
Picture

Picture

Picture

Picture

Picture

Picture
Eminem

I want the old Em back. Angry, raw, emotional, and had a good beat. Then, the forces of mainstream took over and watered him down. Some of it had to do with D-12; their music was always a bit more goofy. RIP Proof. That and rehab. Relapse fell flat to me. Not sure what was different, but it lacked the touching, heart string-pullers on past CDs. Eminem is still a great lyricist, and would bury me under the stage in two lines. I’d dig my own hole and lie down. I just don’t care for his music lately. Make it sound like The Chronic (that unmistakable Dre sound) and it will sell. We all saw “8-Mile.” Did you see Em destroy those people in battle? Shit! 

Picture
Dr. Dre

Dre. I have followed his career from N.W.A to the Dr. Pepper and Intel commercials. You’re a hero of mine. Please, offer your beats to as many rappers as possible. You have a sound that cannot be faked.




The best mix CDs Ever:


There is a lot of competition when it comes to mix tapes. Just because I don’t mention you doesn’t mean I don’t like your shit. There are so many out there, it’s hard to hear them all.

The Get Green Mix CD

 Local boys. Number 7 on this CD might just blow your amp.

Picture

Picture
Chamillionaire-Tippin’ Down 2005

Featuring Lil Flip, Killer Mike, Big Boi…some of the best lyrics around. The best reason for this nomination? Track 14; Purple Rain. And I ain’t talking about Prince. Bun-B lends verses to create the ultimate “sizzurp” anthem. Even if you are completely straightedge, this song will make you want to call up everyone you think could get you some purple drank.

 The Young Jeezy Recession Mix CD.

This record had over fifty tracks and cost just ten dollars. It filled the void in music as “The Recession” kept getting pushed back. Seemed like forever. Some of the best beats marbled throughout it. This one is hard to find; I bought it on Akron’s west side and must replace it soon.

Picture
Tip “T.I.” Harris

Nice to see TI free again! I still wonder if he got my letter. When he was about 2 months into his sentence, I sent him a letter. It was four pages off a legal pad. I hand-stippled every part of each page that didn’t have writing on it. I spent a week just illustrating it. I tried to lift his spirits by sharing memories of Atlanta. I offered to work for him. I never got a response. I’m a bit disappointed; I worked hard on those illustrations! I follow you on Twitter. I see you on Facebook. Acknowledge one time; and I STILL have a full portfolio ready for review.

Picture
To Kanye West:

I appreciate what a creative person you are. The clothes, the blog, the swag; you are an inspiration. Your lyrics are like mine; profound/articulate/cool. I still lack the good beats that you have. You are part of the reason toys from my childhood are worth so much now. To hell with the haters, I respect you, man.

I can’t think of a better platform than your blog to unveil my new line:

KZ Concepts proudly presents

“High Society Footwear.”  

Imagine a fresh-out-the-box pair of clean, white Air Forces or Jordans. Before you put them on, I hand draw and stipple a layer of kings, queens, and jacks. The entire shoe is wrapped in graphics, yet there is no ink where it counts (laces, inner, etc; things that touch your sock/hands.) I use vivid colors to fill the king’s outfits, and the  leather exterior is finished with a hard, clear shell.

If you don’t have a shirt that will match these, you must be naked (no homos.) Each pair takes 2-3 weeks to complete. These are very exclusive; made only by me. I’d appreciate your input. I can work names in, change facial expressions, select color themes, and insert hidden messages.

To order a pair:

E-mail me at [email protected]

(I will need size, brand/model preference, shipping address, and we’ll discuss price. Or, mail me a pair of kicks you
picked out; brand new shoes only, please. Mail me a check, money order, or use PayPal. I will send an estimate. Pricing is based on shoe size, detail, personal input, and cost of shoes if I buy them. All sales are final, and payment must be received before I draw a single line. This is full custom work being applied by the hand of one man. Please be patient.) Shoes also come with a special care instruction sheet.

Get at KZ

Twitter.com/kzconcepts

Facebook.com/kzconcepts

Myspace.com/kzconcepts

(Folks, I am KZconcepts everywhere.)

Hip-hop is wasting away. Sitcoms sample the music, JC Penny’s has hip-hop-themed kids wearing their back-to-school clothing, and our artists have whored themselves out to some of the most outlandish endorsements ever. For this (as a music genre/lifestyle) to survive, it is up to us to make it happen. Write original lyrics, make good beats, and resist the notion of selling out. Our music gets a black eye whenever we allow it to be used to sell some crappy product (This means Dr. Dre’s Dr. Pepper commercial; let them use an actual doctor if the wordplay is that important to them.) We must refrain from ignorant rap beefs, which usually end up with someone completely uninvolved dying or going to jail. Use your lyrics to creatively describe current events. Mention politicians by name on tracks. Rappers are far more powerful than they realize; beyond the screaming fans, sold-out shows, and unaffordable jewelry. Lyrics (either from a CD or at a concert) have a lasting effect on those who hear them. Make your message count. (Oh, and Chris Brown? Yeah, he deserves to lose his fans and endorsements…punk bitch.) I’m proud that we are no longer rioting at our award shows. Twitter has made rappers and producers more accessable to us. Even without a response, they hear what WE want and think. No more layers of managers/agents/etc. to insulate them from the truth. “Is the autotune I used on the CD cool?” Go online and hear it
first-hand. Hip-hop music will be around for many years to come, but I fear what form it may come in. As illegal proceeds have launched more than a few artists, many are seduced when The Gap needs a beat for the new fall line. Don’t do it! Lending your work to an inferior business venture is like Michael Jackson selling his famous glove because someone offered to buy it. You are selling yourself; your identity. The image and collection you have spent your life sculpting will be slowly picked apart one verse at a time.

Picture
 


Also, has it been long enough for Fabolous to drop a new CD? I say remix “Breathe,” pack it with guests, and throw us a few new verses. 

Picture


Joe Budden
, too. Hell Joe, just give me ten minutes…I’ll crush the track with you!

Picture




Where is Mystikal and the rest of the No Limit crew? They didn’t all go
Nickelodeon.

Picture
Picture


I’ll bet Mia X still has some hot lines to share!

Picture
Twista: Playboy, it’s your time again. Some of us have listened since Do or Die/Paperchase; you made the whole world stop and take notice when you dropped “Kamikaze.” You are pure talent…please give us another (and keep that money out of your mouth; it’s filthy!)

Picture
The best hypothetical CD of the year would be a collaboration between Jay-Z and Diddy. Imagine these two comparing counts on the track! It would certainly have to be star-studded: Jeezy/Wayne/T.I/Luda/Ross/Khaled/Outkast/LeBron James… this
record would be the grand finale for the music industry. Hell, give Martha Stewart an intro and Steve Forbes a verse! Money-making is inspirational; give us a glimmer of hope that this economy won’t kill us.

                                                                                          -KZ

Picture



Leave a Reply.