Last night, I decided to branch out. I’ve never tried my hand at poetry, so I decided I’d see if I could qualify. I used
Retribution and Redemption:
http://kzconcepts.wordpress.com/2009/09/24/retribution-and-redemption/

I registered and posted it to the “Poetry Free For All” on www.everypoet.com.

Now, in  this thread, posts are routinely torn apart by the regulars and moderators. It even comes with a disclaimer:

WARNING! We’re mean. We’re nasty. We’re merciless. We’re cruel. We’re vile. We’re heartless.

We’ll slash your soul to ribbons. We’re an evil clique conspiring to annihilate your self-esteem. Ready?


 John Boddie:

“Where did you come up with the idea that this rambling harangue was a form of poetry? It’s really boring centered prose – hardly a form of writing that would appeal to sentient human beings.”

This was clearly a personal attack. Mr. Boddie couldn’t have imagined the circumstances I’ve lived with to inspire prose like that.

I proceeded to toss an insult back his way (affecting his mother, as well.) I explained my motivation for writing it. I
also suggested that if he’d like to continue the debate, I’d gladly do so OFFLIST. I never resorted to profanity, either.

My response came in the worst form: censorship. My post had been killed! Anywhere on the site I tried to navigate (even the unsubscribe,) I was met with this message:
Picture
It must be easy to dish out insults, when you can killpost any comment you
don’t want to have to explain…
Picture
John Boddie can go fuck his dead mother, everypoet.com, and everypoet.org. Isn’t the point to encourage others to strive for better? Even with a few books already to your credit; you sir appear to have no class. I view you as a
false-propped elitist who enjoys disparaging the underdog. CONSTRUCTIVE criticism would have been far more productive (and appreciated.)I guess if you are not pissing people off, you’re not doing something right…


-KZ
James
7/21/2020 05:46:58 am

You really are an idiot. JB's critique was perfectly suited to your poetry. If you can't take harsh criticism then I'd advise you not to write poetry. I take it you can't anyway, your title indicates that you have an IQ of about 2. I'd advise you to shut up, and go back to your sad excuse of a life.

Reply



Leave a Reply.